About My House

Standard

The house is an old cottage style home on a quarter acre lot in a rural town. It has a well and is fenced in. The neighborhood is old with some newer homes that have been built in the last few years. It feels pretty safe and is well kept up! I really like the area.  Although, the mosquitos are BAD. I’m used to mosquitos, but these are a constant. I figure that I’ll have to put up some purple martin houses and maybe some bat houses too.
I got the house very cheaply because it has a lot of issues. The main being termite damage. I’m taking down all the sheet rock and most of the flooring to repair the damage to studs and floor joists. It’s hard work for me, but if I ever get it done, it will be a great little house.
It was a foreclosure home, and the person who owned it before thought they were hurting the bank by tearing the house up. Plumbing fixtures broken off into the walls, HVAC unit stripped, and general damage. Folks, don’t do this, please! It doesn’t really hurt the bank, it hurts the next owner. I don’t have the money to replace the AC, so we will be using the old standby, window units. The bathroom has no windows, so I’m trying to figure out how to cool it while taking showers. Any ideas? Also, no heat, so we will have those little heaters that look sort of like a radiator for our bedrooms. I’d love to have a small wood stove sometime in the future.
I had many promises of help with the house…don’t ever count on that! That’s my tip for the day. I started this the first of May and still have a lot of demolition work to do.  Many of my friends who are ladies have helped tremendously. A few teens have helped a couple of times, and two men from church have come out for a day. I am going to have to try to get some help from some kind of group that helps “needy” people. That gets under my skin a bit. I don’t have much choice though. Never planned to be in this position as an older middle-aged woman.

Well, enough griping…just having a low day.  Take care.

Daughter of Texas

About daughteroftexas

I love my God, my family, my state and my nation...in that order. I am a Christian woman, a libertarian leaning Republican, a prepper and a mom. I am gregarious, out spoken, but have a very caring heart. If I hurt your feelings I apologize now, but I do stand by my beliefs, the Bible and the Constitution of the USA. Oh, and I LOVE eating out!!

One response »

  1. I’m so sorry but I was afraid this would happen when you said you had lots of offers of help. Usually it’s easy to say I’ll help but to be there is another thing. You are just fortunate that you had some teens and good women to go out and help. Too often people put their money in organizations to help but when they’re needed in the flesh – they’re not there. Few real ‘servants’ today – in name only or doing things they want that are easy for them and their families. I only hope you can get the floors and walls in soon so you can at least move in and do the things you “can” do yourself. You won’t have to be concerned soon about not having savings because the signs of the times are saying no one will. Look for the President to soon declare a State of Emergency because of the economy and take it over by Executive Privilege. No one will have savings or stocks and bonds or whatever they rely on. Citizens that have had their heads in the sand will then awaken – maybe too late. Keep your chin up and keep on living for the One Who has all power.

Leave a comment